Institute of Management, Nirma University - Logo


International Robocon 2022

Team Nirma Robocon won the National Robocon 2022 contest and represented Team India in the International contest held on Aug 21, 2022 at Thyagraj Stadium, New Delhi.  Countries like China, Japan, Hongkong, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Egypt, Fiji, Cambodia and India participated in the said contest. Team India (Team Nirma) became the second runners up of the International Robocon contest 2022; and also won the ?NOK? award for displacing the maximum ?Balls on Head? amongst the participating teams. This was the best performance of India in the International Robocon so far in the last 21 years.  The students? team comprised Arya Kargathara, Dev Bhagat, Harsh Chotaliya, Vivek Sondagar, Dhyey Chavda, Foram Patel, Anil Dave, Disha Khatore, Arth Vasoya, Ridham Patel, Aryan Parmar, Vishesh Padia, Rudra Kasta, Harshveersinh Jadeja, Vaibhav Sharma, Ayush Kadia, Devam Mathia, and Atharva Pawar from Institute of Technology.

Team Nirma wins National Robocon

Team Nirma Robocon won the National Robocon 2022 contest for the 10th time out of 21 events organised till date. After winning the league matches, the team won against Parul University, Baroda, MIT ? WPU, Pune and Government College of Engineering and Research, Avasari in the quarter final, semi-final, and final, respectively. This year the event was hosted by IIT Delhi in collaboration with Doordarshan, India at Thyagraj Stadium, New Delhi during July 14-17, 2022. Participants from various colleges across India like IITs, NITs and institutes of national repute participated in the said event. Team Nirma was the only team, who could complete the entire game within the given time limits. Team Nirma Robocon represented India at the International Robocon contest in August 2022.

Awards and Achievements

  • Rushabh Shah, a BPharm Semester-VIII student from the Institute of Pharmacy, Nirma University secured fifth rank in the GPAT 2022 with a score of 294 in May 2022.
  • Yogesh Agarwal from the Institute of Law won the National Environmental Law Quiz Competition organised by the Centre for Research in Environmental Law, Dharmashastra National Law University, Jabalpur held on June 5, 2022. The quiz was based on the History, Origin, and Significance of Environmental Law, Landmark developments, and recent affairs related to it.
  • A team comprising Bhavya Bachani, Mahek Shah, and Vinay Kella from the Institute of Law was adjudged as the winner of the Open Challengers at the 1st MNLU, Nagpur – National Moot Court Competition, 2022 held on June 18-19, 2022.
  • Chintan Ahir, a final year student of the Institute of Architecture & Planning, Nirma University, received the citation in ?ETHOS Trophy for the Thesis category? at the 64th Annual NASA Convention (ANC) hosted by Christ University, Bangalore on June 4, 2022. The ANC is the biggest event hosted by NASA, India, wherein students from various colleges across the country come together to exhibit the best of their works, compete in different events and trophies, and participate in various seminars, discussions, and workshops.
  • A team comprising Divyapratap Singh Parmar, Diya Shekhawat, Prachi Tandon, and Ritik Jain from the Institute of Law received the citation of Best Memorial – Respondent at the XV National Law School – Trilegal International Arbitration Moot Court Competition, 2022 organised by National Law School of India University, Bangalore during June 16-19, 2022.
  • Jenish Patel, Institute of Technology received the Best Paper Award for presenting a paper on ?Comparative Study of Outrigger and Wall-Frame Structural Systems in Steel-Concrete Composite Tall Buildings? during the International Conference on Smart and Sustainable Infrastructure, organised at PDEU, Gandhinagar from August 23-25, 2022.
  • A team comprising Shardul D Dugad, Hemang Parekh, and Srujal Tawade, VII semester students of Industrial Design, Institute of Design won the D?source DIC-BHU SDGs Design Challenge, conducted by IDC School of Design, IIT Bombay on Sep 1, 2022.
  • A team comprising Shubh Bhargava and Akash Patel, students at the Institute of Management secured 2nd position at IIM Ahmedabad?s national level management competition ?Tradecraft? on Oct 1, 2022. The purpose of the event was to integrate the strategic and conceptual theories of economics with their application in a realistic environment. It comprised a quiz round, a case study round, and a business simulation round. About 1000+ participants were a part of this competition.

Achievements at University Level

Patriotic Song Competition

As part of Nirma University’s celebration of Two decades of Academic Excellence and ?Har Ghar Tiranga – Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav?, the Students Welfare Board and the Institute of Management organised ‘Deshraag’, a Patriotic Song Competition on Aug 26, 2022. Eight teams participated in the students category and three teams in the faculty-staff category. Dr Anup K Singh, Director General; Heads of Institutions, and a large number of faculty-staff members and students attended the event. Mr Prahar Vora from SamPraher, and Ms Dipal Nanavati associated with  Spandan events were invited to judge this competition. In the student category, the Institute of Management stood first, and the Institute of Science stood second. In the faculty-staff category, the Institute of Technology stood first, and the Institute of Commerce stood second.

Essay Writing Competition

The Students Welfare Board in collaboration with the NSS unit of Nirma University organised an Online Essay Writing Competition on the theme ?My Vision for India in 2047? for students of Nirma University under the banner of ?Har Ghar Tiranga – Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav? on August 5, 2022. A total of 57 students participated in this competition. Dr Rajeshkumar R Sharma, Assistant Professor, Sheth C N College of Education, Gujarat University; and Ms Vijayalakshmi Sharma, PGT English, Khyati World School, Ahmedabad evaluated the essays. The first three winners were given cash prizes of Rs 1500, Rs 1100, and Rs 700, and all the participants were given e-certificates. Patel Het M from the Institute of Technology stood first, Jahnavi Daga from the Institute of Law stood second, and the third position was shared by Siddhant Kachhwaha from the Institute of Law, and Priyanka Bhageria from the Institute of Management.